Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Integrating Water and Transportation Infrastructure Decision-Making in the Climate Change Era

June 20, 2023 @ 4:00 pm - 5:30 pm EDT

The future of climate resilient communities starts with us. Thank you to everyone who came to our thought-provoking Integrating Resilient Water and Transportation Decision-Making event. Productive discussions covered the importance of heightened stakeholder collaboration, open communication, access to updated data and more.

Let’s harness these insights to drive progress in water and transportation planning for a resilient future!


Special thanks to our co-sponsors:

American Society of Civil Engineers / ULI Washington / International Economic Development Council /

United for Infrastructure / National League of Cities

Event Speakers

Nicole Boothman-Shepard

Nicole Boothman-Shepard

AECOM, Vice President, Senior Director, Resilience + Recovery

Nicole is passionate about partnering with communities on strategic risk reduction for shocks and stresses and advancing equitable pre-covery and resilient post-disaster recovery that generate durable co-benefits for people, environmental sustainability, and economic stability and growth. She serves as the Vice-Chair of the Transportation Research Board’s Transportation Systems Resilience Section (AMR00) and is Principal Investigator for the National Cooperative Highway Research Program’s (NCHRP’s) Contracting Strategies Guidebook for the Administration of Concurrent, Regional Emergencies and Disasters (pending publication). She is a contributing author to Climate Change and the Built Environment (ACEC 2022) and is one of AECOM’s representative to the UN Disaster Risk Reduction (UNDRR) program.

Seth Brown

Seth Brown

National Municipal Stormwater Alliance, Executive Director

Seth Brown has over 25 years of experience in the water sector and is the Principal and Founder of Storm and Stream Solutions, LLC and is also the Executive Director of the National Municipal Stormwater Alliance, which is a 501.c.3 representing stormwater-focused organizations in 25 states across 9 of the 10 U.S. EPA regions.  Seth has a Ph.D. in civil engineering from George Mason University, teaches courses on water-related topics at Virginia Tech and the University of Maryland at Eastern Shore, and is a licensed professional engineer in the state of Maryland.

Dr. Gretchen Goldman

US Department of Transportation, Climate Change Research and Technology Director, and Climate Change Center Co-Director

Prior to her work for the USDOT, Dr. Goldman served at the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy as the Assistant Director for Environmental Science, Engineering, Policy, and Justice, where she led Federal efforts on scientific integrity, Indigenous Knowledge, climate and equity, air quality, and environmental justice. Previously, Dr. Goldman spent a decade as the Research Director for the Center for Science and Democracy at the Union of Concerned Scientists, where she led research and policy efforts on climate, environmental, and science policy decision-making. She has testified before Congress, sat on the board of 500 Women Scientists, and chaired the Air and Climate Public Advisory Committee for the Metropolitan Washington Council of Governments. In 2022, Dr. Goldman made the Georgia Tech alumni 40 Under 40 List and was named in Glamour Magazine’s Women of the Year in 2020. Dr. Goldman holds a PhD and MS in environmental engineering from the Georgia Institute of Technology and a BS in atmospheric science from Cornell University.

George Hawkins

George S. Hawkins, Esq.

Moonshot Missions, Founder and CEO

George Hawkins launched the non-profit Moonshot Missions after stepping down as CEO of DC Water. George helps agencies deliver better service and lower cost, with a focus on under-resourced communities. George transformed DC Water into an innovative enterprise while tripling its investment in water. DC Water’s innovations ranged from Green Infrastructure to clean energy. DC Water issued the first century and environmental impact bonds, and spearheaded programs for low-income customers and on workforce development. George is an advisor to Xylem, Inc. and serves on the Board of the North American Electric Reliability Corporation.

Mark Korman

Marc Korman

Maryland House of Delegates, Chairman of Environment and Transportation Committee

Marc Korman has served as a delegate since January, 2015 and was named Chairman of the Environment and Transportation Committee in May, 2023. The Environment and Transportation Committee is assigned legislation relating to agriculture; bi-county agencies; environmental matters, including agricultural land preservation, program open space, and vehicle emissions; ethics; housing, landlord and tenant, and real property, including lead paint; local government, including land use; natural resources; and transportation (non-revenue related), including highways, bridges, mass transit, and motor vehicles.

Robert Page

Robert Page

HNTB, Vice President, Water Services Practice Leader

Robert has more than 21 years of experience providing hydraulic modeling, sewer transmission, water transmission and stormwater sewer design. He currently serves as the National Practice Leader for HNTB’s Water Services group.

Tom Smith

Tom Smith

ASCE, Executive Director

A dedicated member of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE) for more than 25 years and a civil engineer by training, Tom Smith served as the association’s deputy executive director and general counsel before becoming the executive director and secretary in January 2015. Smith also serves as a director on the board of the ASCE Foundation. Responsible for the day-to-day management of the Society, Smith leads a staff of over 200 and an active volunteer workforce of over 10,000, facilitating ASCE’s tradition of providing high-quality products and services to more than 150,000 members in 177 countries, in all civil engineering disciplines and at all points of their career paths.

Congressman Rob Wittman, R-VA

Co-Chair Chesapeake Bay Watershed Caucus

As a member of the House Committee on Natural Resources, Congressman Wittman serves on both the Energy and Minerals Subcommittee, as well as the Water, Wildlife, and Fisheries Subcommittee, where he brings his professional expertise in water quality, fisheries, and other natural resource issues. He is a proud champion of the Chesapeake Bay for its environmental and economic attributes and has introduced legislation that will increase the accountability and effectiveness of cleaning up the bay. He serves as co-chair of the Chesapeake Bay Watershed Caucus, which brings the bay’s issues into focus for Members of Congress.


June 20, 2023
4:00 pm - 5:30 pm EDT


Reservoir Center
301 Water St SE
Washington, 20003 United States
+ Google Map